The latest installment of reading recommendations from the Columbus Metropolitan Library

GOODNIGHT EVERYONE by Chris Haughton

The sun is setting and all the animals in the forest are getting sleepy except for one: Little Bear, who wants to try to stay awake just a little bit longer. Children will enjoy the illustrations of animals cozying up in their beds. This is a great bedtime book to snuggle up and read together. FOR AGES 3-6

BAD KITTY TAKES THE TEST by Nick Bruel

Bad Kitty is back! The Society of Cat Aptitude has determined that Kitty is not only a bad kitty but a bad cat. Kitty's cat license has been revoked, and she must take a test to get it back. With the help of Uncle Murray and someone new, Chatty Kitty, Kitty learns all about being a cat and even a little about herself. Bruel's humorous illustrations make this a fun read for kids and parents. FOR AGES 7-10

IMPYRIUM by Henry H. Neff

The Faeregine dynasty has ruled Impyrium for more than 3,000 years. However, their once-powerful magic has been fading, along with their power over the empire. One of three triplet granddaughters of the current empress will be chosen to take over the empire, but Hazel, the youngest, would rather study her magic than rule. However, the empress has other plans for Hazel, who shows great magical talent, and hopes to use her to regain the family's power. There are also people who want the dynasty to fall, and Hob, a commoner from a remote province, is sent to the palace to spy on Hazel. This imaginative, exhilarating book is the beginning of a series that will appeal to dedicated fans of fantasy as well as those who enjoy stories of friendship and social concerns. FOR AGES 10-14

THE DIABOLIC by S.J. Kincaid

“A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person you've been created for.”

In a galaxy far away, Nemesis was created to protect Sidonia, a galactic senator's daughter. However, turmoil and rebellion against the power-mad emperor have caused unrest in the galactic court, and the emperor summons the children of the senators suspected of participating in the rebellion. To protect Sidonia, Nemesis is sent in her place, disguised as Sidonia, and must now navigate the world of corrupt politicians, court intrigues and the unwanted attention of a mad prince. For those readers looking for standalone books, this is a great pick. Full of action, mystery and a little romance, this title would appeal to fans of Stars Wars and Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen. FOR TEENS

WEBSITE

BRIGHTLY by Penguin Random House Co.

A great reading resource for parents with kids of all ages, readbrightly.com allows users to explore book recommendations, research literacy milestones for babies through teens, get tips and advice on creating lifelong readers, and even find some grown-up book suggestions. Both parents and book publishing professionals contribute to the site, providing a wealth of information for busy families.

Carissa Whyte is the Youth Services Librarian at the Hilliard Branch of the Columbus Metropolitan Library.