Recommended reads from the Columbus Metropolitan Library

MY TURN! by Laura Rankin

Pammy and Wyatt are best friends and usually have loads of fun playing school, riding bikes and swinging. But when Pammy becomes bossy and won't give Wyatt any turns, their friendship suffers. Humorous illustrations help teach children about the importance of self-awareness, cooperation and taking turns. FOR AGES 2-5

THE TEACHER'S PET by Anica Mrose Rissi, illustrated by Zachariah Ohoro

Mr. Stricter's science class watches as tadpoles hatch, and he lets them choose the smallest one to raise as a pet. Things quickly go terribly wrong when “Bruno” starts to grow uncontrollably and wrecks the classroom. Mr. Stricter doesn't seem overly concerned, so the children work together to solve the huge problem. Some gross humor and funny illustrations highlight this outlandish story. FOR AGES 4-8

JUST MY LUCK by Cammie McGovern

Things haven't been going well for Benny and his family. His father is slowly recovering from brain surgery, his best friend moved away and fourth grade is much harder than Benny thought it would be. A special activity at school rewarding children for good behavior seems like the answer to all his problems and maybe, just maybe, his luck will change. Fans of Absolutely Almost and Wonder will enjoy this realistic fiction story. FOR AGES 8-12

STARGIRL by Jerry Spinelli

This classic teen novel introduces Stargirl to Micah High School and everyone loves her, especially Leo. Stargirl strums a ukulele, carries a pet rat in her tote bag, serenades students in the cafeteria and leaves cards and gifts for people she doesn't know. She is a breath of fresh air, a free spirit. Her popularity is short-lived, however, as her nonconformity becomes a liability. A tale of first love, this wonderful story chronicles the pitfalls of popularity. FOR TEENS

WEBSITE

MakeMeGenius.com

Created by college students, MakeMeGenius.com is a free website filled with science videos for grades one to seven. Choose from a variety of subjects, including physics, photosynthesis, the nervous system, solar system and electricity. The videos are animated and will keep even the youngest children interested from start to finish.

There are also interactive math activities for kindergartners to eighth-graders, including algebra, geometry and precalculus. Quizzes are included at the end of each lesson to test comprehension.

Tamra Headrick is the youth services information services specialist at the Dublin Branch of the Columbus Metropolitan Library.